Osimhen, Nwakali named in Nigeria’s 28-man AFCON roster

0 172

With less than three weeks to the commencement of the main event, the Super Eagles final squad list for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations has finally been released.

Napoli striker Victor Osimhen headlines the 28-man Nigeria list for the continental competition, with new faces like Almeria’s Sadiq Umar, Kelechi Nwakali of Huesca and Olisa Ndah of South Africa’s Orlando Pirates also making the cut.

Regulars like the team’s captain Ahmed Musa, the vice captain William Troost-Ekong, and Wilfred Ndidi were also called up.

Nigeria will take on record winners Egypt, Sudan and Guinea Bissau in Group D of the tournament which is billed to commence on January 9 next year.

Upon the recent sack of manager long-term trainer Gernot Rohr, the NFF has entrusted the former Super Eagles captain, who led Nigeria to a third-place finish at AFCON 2006 in Egypt, to take charge of the team in the interim.

All invited players are expected to start arriving in camp in the Nigeria’s federal capital, Abuja on Wednesday, December 29, with the UK-based players given the grace to start coming in as from Monday, January 3.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.