Ofili, Imaobong headline Nigeria’s 32-athlete list for World Athletics U-20 Champs

0 594

World Athletics has published a provisional entry list for the World U-20 Championships coming up in Nairobi next week.

A total of 32 athletes, including 17 males and 15 females, have been selected to to represent Nigeria at the competition.

Young Olympian Imaobong Nse-Uko, who was among the quartet that smashed the mixed 4x400m African record at Tokyo Olympics earlier this month, will be making her second international outing for Nigeria this year at the championships.

Also competing will be Favour Ofili and Dubem Amene who will, in their case, have a quite busy campaign as each have been entered for three different events. Ofili is listed for women’s 200m, 4x100m and 4x400m while Amene has the men’s 200m, 400m and 4x400m to participate in.

Familiar names like Tima Godbless, Praise Ofoku, Best Erhire, Godson Brume and David Aya have also been listed.

The five-day championships will commence on Tuesday, August 17 and will run through till August 22.



  • 100m: Tima Godless, Praise Ofoku, Olayinka Olajide
  • 200m: Favour Ofili, Anita Taviore
  • 400m: Opeyemi Oke, Imaobong Nse-Uko, Mercy Umoibang
  • 400mH: Sarah Ochigbo
  • Long Jump: Ruth Agadama
  • Discus Throw: Esther Osisike, Utitofon Sam
  • 4x100m: Tima Godbless, Favour Ofili, Anita Taviore, Praise Ofoku, Olayinka Olajide, Obi Chukwuka
  • 4x400m: Favour Ofili, Opeyemi Oke, Imaobong Nse-Uko, Mercy Umoibang, Joy Usenbor, Josephine Oloye


  • 100m: Favour Ashe, Godson Brume, Udodi Onwuzurik
  • 200m: Dubem Amene, Adekalu Fakorede, Udodi Onwuzurik
  • 400m: Bamidele Ajayi, Dubem Amene, Johnson Nnmani
  • 110mH: Prosper Ekporore
  • 400mH: Ezekiel Nathaniel
  • High Jump: David Aya, Best Erhire
  • Javelin Throw: Chinecherem Nnamdi
  • 4x100m: Favour Ashe, Adekalu Fakorede, Ogheneovo Mabilo, Iruoghene Okoro, Godson Brume, Kingsley Unorji
  • 4x400m: Bamidele Ajayi, Dubem Amene, Ezekiel Nathaniel, Emmanuel Salubi, Johnson Nnamani, Victory Achakpoekiri
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.