2019 National Athletics Champs: Itsekiri claims sprint double; Udo-Gabriel, Ofili win titles on Day 2

0 82

Reigning National Sports Festival (NSF) 100m champion Usheoritse Itsekiri lived up to billing as he bagged the 100m & 200m titles on Day 2 of the 2019 National Athletics Championships ongoing in Kaduna.

Having delivered a promising display in the heats and semis of the 100m on Thursday, there was none stopping Itsekiri from clinching the prestigious title, reeling past the rest of the field in the final to finish first with a time of 10.23s.

Enoch Adegoke, who ran the fastest time in the semis (10.14s) on Day 1, had to settle for 2nd spot with a time of 10.25s while defending champion Seye Ogunlewe clocked 10.27s to finish 3rd.

Out to the Ahmadu Bello Stadium track few hours later, Itsekiri raced to the fastest time of all 200m finals as he clocked 20.97s to claim the sprint double.

In the women’s 100m final, Udo-Gabriel gave all to win her first senior national title as she brilliantly held on to her good start for the win in 11.58s, leaving Grace Nwokocha (11.70s) and Rosemary Chukwuma (11.74s) to to settle for 2nd & 3rd spots respectively.

Teenage sensation Favour Ofili powered to victory in the women’s 200m Final A, with the fastest time (in all finals) of 23.35s moments after she had clocked an impressive Personal Best of 51.90s to finish 2nd in the 400m final.

Veteran Patience Okon-George meanwhile carried the day in the quarter-mile event with a SB of 51.66s with Amarachi Obi coming 3rd with a PB of 52.03s.

Emmanuel Ojeli came out tops in the men’s 400m final with a time of 45.93s while Orupke Erayokan (46.35s) and Shedrach Akpeki (46.54s) placed 2nd & 3rd respectively.

Interestingly, the men’s 110m Hurdles witnessed an upset as Martins Ogieriakhi got the better of Abejoye Oyeniyi to clinch the title with a time of 14.02s.

Timothy Emoghene took advantage of Henry Okorie’s slight stumble on the last barrier to claim the win in the men’s 400m Hurdles final with a PB of 50.45s just as the latter came 2nd with a 50.59s clocking.

Similarly, Abasiono Akpan produced a breathtaking sprint in the last 50m to upstage Joy Abu and nick the women’s 400mH title with a PB of 58.02s.

In the 800m finals, Adebayo Sodiq did well to clinch the title in the men’s category with a time of 1:51.91 while the women’s category had their champion in Comfort James who clocked 2:15.03 for the win.

In field events, Precious Okoronkwo leapt 6.05m for the women’s Long Jump title just as Best Erhire lived up to expectations in the men’s High Jump final, leaping a PB 2.12m for the win.

Eucharia Ogbukwo won the women’s Shot Put with a heave of 14.70m while Queen Obisesan retained her crown having thrown 65.19m in the women’s Hammer Throw final to claim the title.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.