2019 FIBA WCQ: Diogu, Efevbeha headline D’Tigers’ 15-man list invited for last phase

0 211

D’Tigers head coach Alex Nwora has called up 15 players for the last window of the 2019 FIBA men’s World Cup qualifiers billed for Abidjan, starting on February 18.

Despite the fact that the Nigerian team have qualified for the global competition, Nwora selected a top list consisting of only foreign players.

Team captain Ike Diogu, Michael Efevbeha, Stanley Okoye, Alade Aminu, Ikechukwu Iroegbu, Ike Nwamu, Ayodeji Akindele, Bryant Mbamalu, Christopher Obekpa, Obinna Emegano, Jekiri Tonye, Talib Zana and Braxton Ogbueze all made the list.

Ekene Ibekwe and Michael Umeh also made the 15-man list after about 4 years of absence from the team.

Nwora defended his choice of top class players for the inconsequential games in a chat with pressmen after the release of the list, stating it was important to give more quality players equal opportunities to fight for places ahead the World Cup in China.

“We were the first country in the world to qualify for the World Cup and it is very important that we start our preparation,” the coach noted.

“The journey to get the team ready for the World Cup is a long one, but I am happy with the progress we have made so far.”

In Abidjan, D’Tigers will play hosts Ivory Coast, Central African Republic and Senegal.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.